Finally Added An Autograph I’ve Been After..

Novca

 

For the past couple of seasons, I’ve been trying to pick up an Ivan Nova autograph to add to my Yankees collection. One of my goals is to add as many autographs of players who donned the pinstripes at anytime in their career. Be it for an inning or 20 years, if they played for the Yankees, I want their autograph.

I am working on my Yankees autographed baseball collection, but not every player is ball worthy, in my opinion. Baseballs are a lot of money these days, so I will either try to hunt down a signed 8×10 or a certified autograph on a  baseball card that was released by Topps, Panini, Upper Deck, Fleer or Donruss, depending on when the player played in New York. The player also has to be pictured in a Yankees uniform as well.  I would like to get a list done of which players I already have so I have a number of what I have. That will be my next project, after I finish organizing my thousands of Yankees baseball cards. A daunting task in it’s self.

Since Nova’s debut in 2010, I have been trying to pick up an autograph of his. It hasn’t come easy. I usually get outbid on autographs on eBay or there are cards that have been ridiculously expensive. Nova’s career stats are 40-21 with a 4.04 ERA, but he has been very inconstant. He has yet to put together a full season where he doesn’t struggle for a few months at a time and now he is lost for the rest of 2014 due to Tommy John surgery. He was thought to be a big part of the rotation this year, but started out slow and got shelved.

20140521_145820_zpst8i9lwex

I finally won a eBay auction for a Nova autograph and it’s a beaut. I won this 2012 Topps Museum Collection dual jersey autograph for less than $5.00. I’m guessing that Nova’s current status as an injured player had something to do with why I got this card for so low a price. Not that I’m complaining, mind you. Nothing I love more than winning a Yankee autograph for next to nothing.

The card is numbered to #99 made. It has two swatches from his home uniform. I say uniform because it doesn’t say they are jersey pieces. Heck, the back of the card even goes as far as to say that they are not from any specific game, season or event. That means they may not even be game used. I guess ignorance will have to be bliss in my case, not that I bid on the card because I cared about the game used pieces, although the pinstripe piece pleases me.

I can cross Nova off my list and move on to other players I need autographs of. Off the top of my head, David Justice, Chuck Knoblauch and Scott Brosius are three players from the championship years I really need in my collection. Maybe I can add them in the next few weeks. Either way, I won’t stop hunting them until I do.

Leave a Reply

