New Yankee Autograph-Art Ditmar

I love collecting Yankees memorabilia. Whenever I pick up something Yankees or am given a Yankees gift I feel like I am a part of the team. I know that sounds pretty corny, but it’s always how I always felt. From getting my first Yankees cap, to my first Yankees baseball card, to my first jersey, and so on and so forth.

One of my absolute favorite things to add to my Yankees collection is autographs. I am trying to get at least 1 autograph of as many players who wore the Yankee pinstripes. An impossible task, I know, but I am having a blast trying.

I get them anyway I can. Certified autos from the card companies, ebay, in person appearances. Any way I can get them. I get a lot through the mail or TTM as us autograph hounds call it. I’ve had some pretty good success sending requests to players and asking them to sign a card or photo. I usually try and ask a former player who doesn’t have any certified autographs. Makes it more fun to chase and your collection more unique.

Recently, Former Yankees pitcher Art Ditmar signed a photo and a Yankee Stadium custom card I sent to him.

ditmar1

 

ditmar2

 

 

Ditmar pitched 5 seasons for the Yankees, winning a career high 15 games in 1960. Ditmar was a part of the 1958 World Championship team and started Game 1 and Game 5 of the 1960 World Series losing both. He also had 2 stints with the A’s in Philadelphia and Kansas City.

I am very pleased I could add Ditmar to my Yankees autograph collection. Ditmar might not have been a major star, but I will always want the autographs of any player who played with the Yankees. Be it 1o years or 1/3rd of an inning. Once a player puts on the Yankee pinstripes, he is a part of the team’s history and I will always have a spot in my colelction for those players.

Leave a Reply

