New Autograph Addition: Bob Turley

bob turley

 

During the week, one of my recent autograph requests was returned to me by former Yankee pitcher, “Bullet” Bob Turley.  I was thrilled when this came back. I had met him a few years ago at a baseball card show in White Plains and had him sign a Yankees mini ice cream helmet when I was collecting them. I had sent out a request because I wanted to have him sign one of my custom Yankee cards and a 5×7 photo for my Yankees collection and in under 2 weeks time, both were returned signed.

turley1

 

turley2

 

Unfortunately, the card was dinged in the lower corner, as you can see. Still I am pleased I can add “Bullet” Bob to my Yankees autograph collection.

For the younger readers, Bob Turley pitched from 1951 to 1963. As side from the Yankees, he pitched for the St. Louis Browns, The Baltimore Orioles, Los Angeles Angels and finished his career with the Red Sox. His career numbers are 101-85 with a 3.64 ERA. He was a 3 time All Star and won 2 World Championships. 1958 was his best year as he won 21 games for the Yankees winning the Cy Young Award as well as World Series MVP in helping the Yankees beat the Braves in the World Series.

Thank you Mr. Turley for signing my stuff.

Leave a Reply

