3/31/2010

4 more days until I settle in front of my TV and watch the Yanks take on the Red Sox. I cannot wait for the regular season to start. Durng my rounds at the office, I over heard a conversation between two co-workers regarding Damaso Marte. One was in favor of him being the 7th inning guy and the other was in favor of getting rid of him.

Here’s my take. Although I like the way he pitched in the post season, I want to take a wait and see approach with him because he hasn’t exatcly lit the world on fire since he’s been here. His ERA (if I calcuated correctly) since he’s been here is 6.73.Yes, I understand he’s been injured, which is why I’d like to see a full season in the pen. I know he can pitch in the AL because he had his best season as a White Sox back in 2003 when he went 4-2 with a 1.58 ERA. He struk out 87 batters in 79.2 innings, walked 34 and allowed 50 hits. Not too shabby, but that was 7 years ago. He’s 35 years old. This is a very important year him, so I’d like to see him come through this season and maybe become a part of the “Formula” that brigdes the 7th and 8th innings to Mo in the ninth.

Going to add to my growing bobble head collection after work. The Yankee Clubhouse has a sale on the World Championship bobble heads and I have been wanting to start collecting the set. I hope to pick up Tex and Jeter today, possibly Matsui if they have the one with the WS MVP. Got my lap top back, so I can possibly post pics later.

 

Leave a Reply

